Search term is required Close Search

FAANP Awards

Penny K. Jensen and Joyce Knestrick
Penny K. Jensen and Joyce Knestrick

Loretta C. Ford Award

The FAANP Loretta C. Ford Award is presented annually to an NP who demonstrates participation in health care policy development at an international, national or local level; sustained and specific contribution to clarification of the role and scope of practice of NPs; and/or creative and effective action to turn a challenge to the NP role into an effective opportunity to advance practice and improve patient outcomes.

  • Past Loretta Ford Awardees

    2023 — Joyce Knestrick, PhD, FNP-BC, FAANP, FAAN

    2022 — William E. Rosa, PhD, MBE, AGPCNP-BC, FAANP, FAAN

    2020 — Madrean Schober, PhD, MSN, ANP, FAANP

    2021 — Susan Orsega, RN, FNP-BC, MSN, FAANP

    2019 — Mona Marie Counts, PhD, CRNP, FNAP, FAAN, FAANP

    2018 — Barbara M. Resnick, PhD, CRNP, FAAN, FAANP

    2017 — Penny Kaye Jensen, DNP, FNP-C, FAAN, FAANP

    2016 — Rosemary T. Goodyear, EdD, APRN-BC, FAANP

    2015 — Judith A. Berg, PhD, RN, WHNP-BC, FAAN, FAANP

    2014 — Jan F. Towers, PhD, MS, FAANP

    2013 — Mary Jo Goolsby, EdD, MSN, NP-C, FAANP

    2012 — JoAnne Pohl, PhD, ANP-BC, FAAN, FAANP

Legacy Award

Established in 2020, the FAANP Legacy Award honors, recognizes and memorializes a member of FAANP whose lifelong career has had a profound and enduring impact on the profession and the nurse practitioner (NP) role, articulating a dream that others share and follow. The vision, innovation, courage, persistence and inspiration of the honoree are essential components of the legacy.

  • Past Legacy Awardees

    2023 — Leanne C. Busby, DNS, RN, FAANP

    2023 — Marie-Eileen Onieal, PhD, MMHS, RN, CPNP, FAANP

    2023 — Joyce Pulcini, PhD, PNP-BC, FAANP, FAAN

    2023 — Mary Ellen Roberts, DNP, RN, APNC, FAAN, FAANP

    2023 — Lorna Schumann, PhD, FNP-C, ACNP-BC, ENP-C, ACNS-BC, FAANP, FAAN

    2023 — Barbara Sheer, PhD, PNP, FNP, FAANP

    2023 — Cathy St. Pierre, PhD, APRN, FNP-BC, FAANP

    2022 —- Ruth Kleinpell, PhD, RN, FAAN, FAANP

    2022 — Lori Martin-Plank, PhD, FNP-C, GNP-BC, FAANP, FNAP

    2022 — Henry Silver, MD, FAANP(H)

    2021 — Frank L. Cole, PhD, CEN, FNP, FAAN, FAANP, FAEN

    2021 — Judith S. Dempster, DNSc, NP-C, FNP, FAANP

    2021 — Charon A. Pierson, PhD, GNP-BC, FAAN, FAANP

    2020 — Loretta C. Ford, EdD, RN, PNP, NP-C, CRNP, FAAN, FAANP

    2020 — Delia O'Hara, CNP, JD, FAANP

    2020 — Jan Towers, PHD, NP-C, CRNP, FAAN, FAANP

Barry Towers, PhD, FAANP (H)
Barry Towers

Honorary Fellow

The Honorary Fellow is a non-NP who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in at least one of the following areas of importance to NPs: Practice, education, policy and research.

  • Past Honorary Fellows

    2023 — Barry Towers, PhD, FAANP (H)

    2021 — Shwu-Feng Tsay, PhD, RN, FAAN, FAANP(H)

    2020 — Catherine J. Rick, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN, FAANP(H)

    2020 — Barbara Stilwell, PhD, RN, FRCN, FAANP(H)

    2019 — Joyce J. Fitzpatrick, PhD, MBA, RN, FAAN, FNAP, FAANP(H)

    2018 — Winifred V. Quinn, PhD, FAANP(H)

    2017 — Barbara Jonas, MSW, FAAN, FAANP(H)

    2017 — Donald Jonas, FAAN, FAANP(H)

    2017 — Michael McGinnis, MD, MA, MPP, FAANP(H)

    2016 — Peter Buerhaus, PhD, RN, FAAN, FAANP(H)

    2016 — Senator Daniel K. Inouye, FAANP(H)

    2015 — Patrick DeLeon, PhD, MPH, JD, FAANP(H)

    2015 — Henry Silver, MD, FAANP(H)

    2014 — Jeff Bauer, PhD, FAANP(H)

    2013 — Barbara Safriet, JD, LLM, FAANP(H)

Nominations for all awards open annually in the Winter.