Search term is required Close Search

2017 State Award for Excellence

AUSTIN, TX Every year, the American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) recognizes outstanding achievements by nurse practitioners (NPs) and NP advocates by presenting the annual AANP State Award for Excellence. These awards are presented to the recipients throughout the year in each state, with winners being recognized during the AANP National Conference.

The State Award for Excellence, founded in 1991, recognizes an NP in each state who demonstrates excellence in clinical practice. In 1993, the state award was extended to recognize the efforts of an individual who had made a significant contribution toward increasing the awareness and acceptance of NPs. Examples of past recipients of this award have been physicians, legislators, educators, etc. NPs are also eligible for the advocate award for non-clinical practice initiatives related to leadership, precepting, policy, politics, research, education, or community affairs.

Congratulations to the 2017 AANP State Award Winners listed below!

2017 State Award Winners

State Nurse Practitioners Advocates
Alabama Dr. Michele H. Talley Dr. Nancy Turnham
Alaska Ann Glasheen Dr. Kyle Bergquist
Arizona Dr. Sharon Falke Sen. Nancy Barto
Arkansas Dr. Nycole Oliver Pipere Brettell
California Evy McNitt Silk Dr. Susanne J. Phillips
Colorado Dr. Patsy McGuire Cullen Reenie Zaccardi
Connecticut Dr. Nanette Alexander Rep. Theresa W. Conroy
Delaware Maria R. Ash Dr. Stacey K. Graves
District of Columbia Guinevere T. Que Chioma Nwachukwu
Florida Hillary L. Morgan Sen. Aaron Bean
Georgia Cheryl Kicklighter Angela M. Barco
Hawaii Dr. Anne Reynolds Leake Rep. Della Au Belatti
Idaho Dr. Melanie Nash
Illinois Jill C. Cash
Indiana Dr. Nancy E. Edwards Dr. Erik P. Southard
Kansas Jill Ariagno Melissa Marie Oropeza-Vail
Kentucky Dr. Deborah V. Thomas Col. Michele Fennel Shearer
Louisiana Dr. Jennifer Cameron Rep. Dustin Miller
Maine Ann Elizabeth OBrien Patricia Hamilton
Maryland S. Dale G. Jafari Dr. Diane Carole Seibert
Massachusetts Komal Kenkare Colleen LaBelle
Michigan Dr. Patrick Hawkins Rep. Ken Yonker
Minnesota Dr. Beth Ann Good Dr. Brian Keith Goodroad
Mississippi Dr. Shonda Ricks Phelon Dr. Kristi Henderson
Missouri Dr. Kim K. McGinn-Perryman Fmr. Rep Jeanne Kirkton
Montana Deborah Kern Joyce C. Dombrouski
Nebraska Kathy Hoebelheinrich Dr. LeAnn R. Holmes
Nevada Barbara Jean Ruscingno Sheryl Giordano
New Hampshire Evelyn M. Stacy Mary Bidgood-Wilson
New Jersey Victoria Ellen Eftychiou Dr. Dorothy A. Borrensen
New Mexico Dr. Liana K. Martiinez Melissa Foster Rietz
New York Dr. Lisa M. Paplanus Dr. Susan Marks
North Carolina Gerri Morrison Dr. Sara L. Hubbell
North Dakota Gwen LR Witzel Cheryl Rising
Ohio Dr. Candy Sue Rinehart Sally Streiber
Oklahoma Margaret Rosales Rep. Jonathan D. Echols
Oregon Mary I. Fey Tracy E. Pozar
Pacific U.S. Territories Anna Maria A. Cruz Teofila P. Cruz
Pennsylvania Dr. Eugene Thomas Lucas, Jr. Rep. Jesse Topper
Puerto Rico Jorge Garcia Dr. Nancy Davila
Rhode Island Eleanor Clapprood Dr. Andrew Saal
South Carolina Dr. Sheryl Lynn Mitchell Judith Curfman Thompson
South Dakota Sue Hogue Rachel Waddell
Tennessee Stan Bevis Rep. Jeremy Faison
Texas Julia K. Kuzin Dr. Jan Zdanuk Dodd
U.S. Virgin Islands J. Rakiiba Jackson
Utah Lacey M. Eden Sen. David Hinkins
Vermont Dr. Barbara A. Rouleau Dr. Betty Rambur
Virginia Dr. Rebecca E. Sutter-Barrett Connie K. Henry (Posthumous)
Washington Dr. Doquyen Le Huynh Dr. Gary Franklin
West Virginia Deborah Casdorph Del. Amy Summers
Wisconsin Marilyn Shutte Burton Wagner
Wyoming Alicia Mae Le Pard Rep. Sue Wilson

The American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) is the largest professional membership organization for nurse practitioners (NPs) of all specialties. It represents the interests of the more than 234,000 licensed NPs in the U.S. AANP provides legislative leadership at the local, state and national levels, advancing health policy; promoting excellence in practice, education and research; and establishing standards that best serve NP patients and other health care consumers. As The Voice of the Nurse Practitioner, AANP represents the interests of NPs as providers of high-quality, cost-effective, comprehensive, patient-centered health care. To locate a nurse practitioner in your community, go to