Search term is required Close Search

2018 State Award for Excellence

AUSTIN, TX Every year, the American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) recognizes outstanding achievements by nurse practitioners (NPs) and NP advocates in each state by presenting the AANP State Award for Excellence. These awards are distributed to the recipients throughout the year, with winners being recognized during the AANP national conference.

The State Award for Excellence, founded in 1991, recognizes an NP in each state who demonstrates excellence in clinical practice. In 1993, the state award was extended to recognize the efforts of an individual who had made a significant contribution toward increasing the awareness and acceptance of NPs. Examples of past recipients of this award have been physicians, legislators, educators, etc. NPs are also eligible for the advocate award for non-clinical practice initiatives related to leadership, precepting, policy, politics, research, education, or community affairs.

Congratulations to the AANP 2018 State Award winners listed below!

2018 State Award Winners

State Nurse Practitioners Advocates
Alabama Kala Blakely, DNP, CRNP, NP-C Ian Burge, MSN, FNP-BC, CHPN, CRNP
Alaska Claire Lewis, WHNP, MHS, BSN, RN Ursula McVeigh, MD
Arizona Joan Lazore, MSN, FNP-BC Denise Link, WHNP, CNE, FAAN, FAANP
Arkansas Michelle Boone, DNP, APRN, FNP-C, AG-ACNP-BC Rep. Kim Hammer
California Denise Perez, MS, RN, FNP-BC Jeffrey Arnold, MD, FACEP
Colorado Rosario Medina, PhD, FNP-BC, ACNP, CNS Kathleen Sanford, DBA, RN, FACHE, FAAN
Connecticut Kristen Marie Guida, DNP, ANP-C, ACNP-BC,
Edward Volpintesta, MD
Delaware Cynthia Lang-Groening, APRN, NP-C Ronald Castaldo, Ph.D., MBA, MS, CRNA,
District of Columbia Courtney Pladsen, DNP, FNP-BC Lauren Inouye, RN, MPP
Florida Amanda Chaney, DNP, ARNP, FNP-BC, FAANP Jessica MacIntyre, ARNP, NP-C, AOCNP
Georgia Janie McGhin, NP-C,CDE Lucy Marion, PhD, RN, FAAN, FAANP
Hawaii Jared Medeiros, APRN Laura Reichhardt, MS, APRN, NP-C
Idaho William Sabel, DNP, FNP-C, APRN Michelle Anderson, DNP-FNP
Illinois Barbara Shaw, DNP, APN, FNP-C Pamela Haerr, RN, BS, CPNP
Indiana Kristine Weaver, FNP Mary Yaggy, GNP-BC
Iowa Lori Reed, ARNP, FNP-C
Kansas Karen Lehman, DNPc,MSN,APRN, FNP-C Charity Clark, MSOHRD, BS, RRT
Kentucky Sheila Carroll, APRN Jane Owens, DNP, FNP-C
Louisiana Mari Wirfs, PhD, APRN, ANP-BC, FNP-BC, CNE Rhonda Hensley, EdD, DNP
Maine Margaret (Peggy) Akers, ANP Robert Howe, MPA
Maryland Helina Somervell, DNP, MSN, CRNP, FNP-BC Beverly Lang, MScN, RN, ANP-BC
Massachusetts Martha Klay , MSN, APRN Stephanie Ahmed, DNP, FNP-BC
Michigan Susanna Sirianni, RN, DNP, ACNP-BC, ANP-BC, CCRN Olivia McLaughlin
Minnesota Patricia Peschman, DNP, RN, CNP Renee Dahring, MSN, APRN, CNP
Mississippi Teresa Hamill, DNP, FNP-BC Rep. Donnie Scoggin, FNP
Missouri Anniece Spencer, DNP, RN, FNP-C, BC-ADM Fmr Rep. Tila Hubrecht, RN
Montana Kathy Jorgensen , APRN, FNP Gabrielle Corscadden, RRT
Nebraska Amy Arndt, DNP, APRN Linda Lazure, PhD, RN, FAAN
Nevada Maileen Ulep-Reed, APRN, FNP-BC Teresa Praus, MSN, APRN, FNP-BC
New Hampshire Jillian Belmont, DNP, FNP-BC, SCRN Dorothy Mullaney, DNP, APRN
New Jersey Mary Krug, MSN,APN Linda Mowad, RN, PhD
New Mexico Lisa Taylor, DNP, CRNP, BC-ADM Michelle Peacock, FNP-BC
New York William Rosa , MS, AGPCNP-BC, ACHPN, AHN-BC, CCRN-CMC Mary Callan, FNP
North Carolina Dennis Taylor, DNP, ACNP-BC Jean Davison, DNP, FNP-BC
North Dakota Danielle Skaar, FNP-C Stacey Pfenning, DNP, APRN, FNP, FAANP
Ohio Kate Gawlik, DNP, RN, CNP Meredith Foxx, MBA, MSN, APRN, PCNS-BC,
Oklahoma Leah Melton, MSN, APRN, BC-ADM Rep. Josh Cockroft
Oregon Nicole Bennett, PMHNP, DNP Jenn Baker, BA
Pacific U.S. Territories Meagan Bamba-Ada, MSN, NP-C Felix Cabrera, MD
Pennsylvania Carolyn Garver, RN, CRNP-C, MSN Sen. Camera Bartolotta
Puerto Rico Marien Saade, MSN, RN, CNN
Rhode Island Xristin Maestri, APRN Madeleine Thibeault, MS
South Carolina Kristi Miller, MSN, FNP-BC Judith Zink, MSN, FNP-BC PCPNP WOCN
South Dakota Diane Kenkel, MS, CNP Nicole Gibson, DNP, RN, NP-C
Tennessee Tracie Moore, DNP, FNP/ACNP/ACNS-BC W. Clay Jackson, MD, DipTh
Texas Holly Jeffreys, DNP, FNP-BC, APRN Rep. Stephanie Klick, BSN
U.S. Virgin Islands Lisa Gay, FNP JudyAnne Ross, RN, BSN, MSN
Utah Rodney Newman, MSN, ANP-BC Deanne Williams, MS, CNM, FACNM
Vermont Michelle Wade, MSN/ Ed. APRN Amy O'Meara, DrNP, AGNP, WHNP
Virginia Megan Hebdon, DNP, RN, FNP-c Karen Budd, MSN, FNP-C
Washington Carrie Boom, RN, MN, ARNP Anne Piazza, MBA
West Virginia Kendra Barker, DNP, APRN, FNP-BC, BC-ADM, CDE Gaylene Miller
Wisconsin Mary Beck-Metzger, DNP, MSN, FNP Debra Casper, MSN, RN, ACNP-BC, CCRN
Wyoming Mary Cox, MSN, PMHNP-BC, FNP-BC, GNP-BC Mary Behrens, MSN, FNP-BC, FAANP

The American Association of Nurse Practitioners
(AANP) is the largest professional membership organization for nurse practitioners (NPs) of all specialties. It represents the interests of the more than 248,000 licensed NPs in the U.S. AANP provides legislative leadership at the local, state and national levels, advancing health policy; promoting excellence in practice, education and research; and establishing standards that best serve NP patients and other health care consumers. As The Voice of the Nurse Practitioner, AANP represents the interests of NPs as providers of high-quality, cost-effective, comprehensive, patient-centered health care. To locate a nurse practitioner in your community, go to For more information about NPs, visit