Search term is required Close Search

2019 Honorary Fellow and Loretta C. Ford Award Recipient Announced

The Executive Committee of the Fellows of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners (FAANP) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2019 Honorary Fellow and the 2019 Loretta C. Ford Award. The following individuals will be honored at the 2019 FAANP Induction Ceremony on Thursday, June 20, during the 2019 AANP National Conference in Indianapolis.

2019 Honorary Fellow

The 2019 FAANP Honorary Fellow is Joyce J. Fitzpatrick, PhD, MBA, RN, FAAN, FNAP. The Honorary Fellow is a non-nurse practitioner who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in at least one of the following areas of importance to nurse practitioners (NPs): practice, education, policy and research.

Fitzpatrick is the Elizabeth Brooks Ford Professor of Nursing at the Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing (FPBSON) of Case Western Reserve University (CWRU) in Cleveland, Ohio. She served as Dean of FPBSON from 1982 to 1997. She has led and empowered advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs) throughout her career. Dr. Fitzpatrick has developed and approved coursework, curriculum and programs of study for APRNs, resulting in approximately 1,000 master’s and doctoral degrees for NPs.

Fitzpatrick has demonstrated sustained advocacy and outstanding leadership in education and research with meritorious service that has impacted the NP profession and role. In 2018, Fitzpatrick was named as Inaugural Director of the Marian K. Shaughnessy Nursing Leadership Academy at FPBSON. In this new role, she serves as Project Director of the recently funded study, Full Practice Authority for Advanced Practice Nurses: A Partnership between the Schools of Nursing, Law, Management and Medicine, Case Western Reserve University. The study is anticipated to add significantly to existing evidence supporting full practice authority for NPs.

Fitzpatrick has received multiple honorary doctorates, numerous honors and awards. With more than 300 publications, she has received the American Journal of Nursing Book of the Year Award 20 times. In 2014, Fitzpatrick received the Sigma Theta Tau International Research Hall of Fame Award, and in 2016, she was named a Living Legend by the American Academy of Nursing. In 2018, Fitzpatrick received the prestigious American Nurses Association Jessie M. Scott award. In 2017, Fitzpatrick received the Nightingale Initiative for Global Health: Excellence Award for Teaching and Mentoring Nursing’s Future Leaders, and she has been selected to receive the 2019 Florence Nightingale International Foundation International Council of Nurses Award.

2019 Loretta C. Ford Award

The 2019 recipient of the Loretta C. Ford Award for Advancement of the Nurse Practitioner Role in Health Care is Mona Marie Counts, PHD, CRNP, FNAP, FAAN, FAANP. The Loretta C. Ford Award is presented annually to an NP who demonstrates participation in health care policy development at an international, national or local level; sustained and specific contribution to clarification of the role and scope of practice of NPs; and/or creative and effective action to turn a challenge to the NP role into an effective opportunity to advance practice and improve patient outcomes.

Known as the founding mother of the NP movement, Counts is nationally recognized for her impact on health policy and legislation, most notably her efforts in regard to NPs as primary care providers and health care access and practice in rural areas. She served on various White House panels and key national task forces for health care reform. She lobbied for NP full practice authority at both the state and national levels. As Chair at the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Counts paved the way for independent NP practice by insisting on provider-neutral language for improved reimbursement to NPs.

Counts developed one of the nation’s first independent, NP-run family practice clinics, which provided health care to underserved rural areas in Appalachia. Through her clinic, thousands of low-income individuals residing in medically underserved areas were able to receive high-quality health care. Counts’ rural primary care clinic continues to serve as a model for NP practice.

As one of this nation’s first NPs and a strong supporter of women’s education and advancement, Counts was instrumental in the development of NP curricula across the country. Since 1970, when she started the Nurse Intensivist Program (later known as the NP Program) at Emory University, she proceeded to help develop NP programs at various other universities, including Baylor and Penn State.

Counts further influenced and increased the visibility of the NP role as a former President of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP), charter member and Chair of the Fellows of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners (FAANP) and officer of the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners Certification Board.

In tribute to Counts’ life and legacy, a special edition of the FAANP newsletter has recently been published. View the newsletter.