Search term is required Close Search

AANP Announces 2020 Grants and Scholarships Recipients

SKM 625

AUSTIN, TEXAS — The American Association of Nurse Practitioners® (AANP) has announced the 2020 recipients of its Grants and Scholarships Program, which awarded a combined $120,000 to 41 members this year. These recipients will be recognized during the 2020 State of the Association Member Update on July 25.

“We are honored to contribute to the continued success of our members,” says Diane Padden, AANP vice president of Professional Practice and Partnerships, who oversees the program. “These monetary awards will in part enable these grant and scholarship recipients to realize their goals.”

Since 2014, the AANP Grants and Scholarships Program has awarded more than $500,000 to exceptional AANP members for use in furthering education or to conduct research, advance evidence-based care or implement quality improvement projects.

Learn More About AANP Grants and Scholarships

2020 Grant Award Recipients ($37,500)

  • Lydia H. Albuquerque, DNP, RN, ACNP-BC, CCRN of William Patterson University from Wayne, New Jersey.
  • Amy Delaney, MSN, RN, CPNP-AC/P of Boston College William F. Connell School of Nursing from Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts.
  • Christy Lenahan, DNP, FNP-BC, ENP-C, CNE of the University of Louisiana at Lafayette from Lafayette, Louisiana.
  • Brenda Marshall, EdD, PMHNP-BC, ANEF, FAANP of William Patterson University from Wayne, New Jersey.
  • Humberto Reinoso, PhD, FNP-BC, ENP-BC of Mercer University from Atlanta.
  • Carmen Rodriguez, PhD, ANP-BC, AOCN of the University of South Florida from Tampa, Florida.
  • Rebecca Spear, MSN, ARNP, AGNP-C of Kaiser Permanente from Santa Rosa, California.
  • Jonathan D. Yoder, MSN, FNP-C of the University of Virginia School of Nursing from Charlottesville, Virginia.

2020 Scholarship Award Recipients ($82,500)

Master’s in Nursing Scholarship

  • Ashley Affentranger, BSN, RN of the University of Colorado Anschutz from Denver.
  • Samantha Austin, BSN, RN, CIC of the State University of New York Polytechnic Institute from Deerfield, New York.
  • Kailyn Bundren, RN, BSN of the University of Alabama-Huntsville from Huntsville, Alabama.
  • Krystal L. Carey, RN, BSN, WCC of Colorado Tech University from Queen Creek, Arizona.
  • Erica G. Coleman, BSN, RN of the University of South Alabama from Baton Rouge, Louisiana.
  • Paul Drenth Jr., BSN of Saginaw Valley State University from Mount Pleasant, Michigan.
  • Rob Duryee, RN, MSN(c), CCRN of Grand Canyon University from La Crescenta, California.
  • Kaitlin Earle, BSN, RN of West Virginia University from Morgantown, West Virginia.
  • Samantha Herman, RN, BSN, CEN, CPEN of Seton Hall University from Piscataway, New Jersey.
  • Laura E. Hofer, RN, BSN of Vanderbilt University from Sioux Falls, South Dakota.
  • Heather Holland, BSN, RN of Georgetown University from Pleasanton, California.
  • Elleni Mulugeta, RN of Old Dominion University from Richmond, Virginia.
  • Christine Obregon, BSN, RN of the University of Nevada Reno from Reno, Nevada.
  • Heber Petroro, BSN, RN, CEN, CPEN of Hofstra University from Ridge, New York.
  • McCartney Renn, BAN, RN, CCRN, RNC-NIC of Vanderbilt University from Minneapolis.
  • Parker Rohrbaugh, BSN, RN of the University of Virginia from Charlottesville, Virginia.
  • Melanie Spotts, BSN, RN of the University of Colorado College of Nursing from Denver.
  • Lisa Williams, BSN, RN of Walden University from Robbinsville, New Jersey.
  • Porsche C. Wilson, BSN, RN of Southern University and A&M College from Baton Rouge, Louisiana.

Doctor of Nursing Practice – Post Master’s

  • McKenzie Baker, MSN, FNP-C of Kent State University from Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio.
  • Chia-Chen Lee, MSN, FNP-C of University of California San Francisco from San Jose, California.
  • Mary A. Nametka, MSN, RN, CWON, CWS, CFCS, FNP-BC of Gonzaga University from Portland, Oregon.
  • Mindy K. Robert, MSN, MA, FNP-C, WHNP-BC of Weber State University from Ogden, Utah.

Doctor of Nursing Practice – BSN to DNP

  • Callie Burch, BSN, RN of Florida State University from Tallahassee, Florida.
  • Natalie Eberle, BSN, RN of the University of Missouri-Kansas City from Kansas City, Missouri.
  • Dawn Eldred, RN, MSN, PHRN of the University of Pittsburgh from Titusville, Pennsylvania.
  • Sylvanus B. Mensah, BSN, RN of Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing from Baltimore.
  • Jennifer Morgan, BSN of South Dakota State University from Sioux Falls, South Dakota.
  • Emily Radcliffe, RN, BSN of Viterbo University from Rochester, Minnesota.
  • Carla Reynoso RN, BSN of George Mason University from Burke, Virginia.
  • Ron Vincent, RN of Wayne State University from Fenton, Michigan.
  • Claire Watson, RN of the University of Utah from Salt Lake City.
  • Sara Wilson, RN, BSN, OCN of the University of Utah from Salt Lake City.


The American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) is the largest professional membership organization for nurse practitioners (NPs) of all specialties. It represents the interests of the more than 355,000 licensed NPs in the U.S. AANP provides legislative leadership at the local, state and national levels, advancing health policy; promoting excellence in practice, education and research; and establishing standards that best serve NP patients and other health care consumers. As The Voice of the Nurse Practitioner®, AANP represents the interests of NPs as providers of high-quality, cost-effective, comprehensive, patient-centered health care. For more information about AANP and AANP Fellows program, visit

Become a trusted resource for your patients with relevant, evidence-based educational experiences.