Press Releases & Announcements

2013 State Award for Excellence

AUSTIN, TX (June 11, 2013) Every year AANP recognizes outstanding achievements by NPs and NP advocates by presenting the annual AANP State Award for Excellence. These awards are presented to the recipients throughout the year in each state, with winners being recognized during the AANP National Conference.

The State Award for Excellence, founded in 1991, recognizes an NP in each state who demonstrates excellence in clinical practice. In 1993, the state award was extended to recognize the efforts of an individual who had made a significant contribution toward increasing the awareness and acceptance of NPs. Examples of past recipients of this award have been physicians, legislators, educators, etc. NPs are also eligible for the advocate award for non-clinical practice initiatives related to leadership, precepting, policy, politics, research, education, or community affairs.

Congratulations to the 2013 AANP State Award Winners listed below!

2013 State Award Winners

State Nurse Practitioners Advocates
Alabama Susan Alexander Rep. Howard Sanderford
Alaska Martha Herriott Lynn E. Hartz
Arizona Patric Hernandez-Kline Karen Holder
Arkansas Karen Robertson Reynolds James Rudy Darling
California Sheila Sanning Shea Stephen Lindsay
Colorado Jenny Mitchell Nurse Practitioner Advisory Task Force for Colorado Healthcare (NPATCH)
Connecticut Kathryn Jack Lynn Price
Delaware Lynn O. Morgan Paul E. Minnick
District of Columbia William Campbell Susan C. Reinhard
Florida Alicia Gill Rossiter Doreen Cassarino
Georgia Cynthia Rinehart Rep. Jason Shaw
Hawaii Sharon L. L. Espina Jillian Inouye
Idaho Michelle M. Anderson Joel Swanson
Illinois Teresa D. Valerio AASM Board of Directors
Indiana Barbara Strasburger  
Iowa Melissa Fagan Jeffrey C. Reist
Kansas Diane Whitaker Ebbert Alice Thornton Bell
Kentucky Christy Yates Elizabeth Partin
Louisiana Lisa C. Bayhi Tammy T. Stewart-Dixon
Maine Susan E. Davis Doughty Mary E. Jude
Maryland Karen A. Millett Julia Pitcher Worcester
Massachusetts Karen L. Dick
Nancy F. Phillips
Sen. Richard T. Moore
Rep. Steven Walsh
Michigan MaryLee Pakieser Sen. Mark C. Jansen
Minnesota Mary Mackenburg-Mohn  
Mississippi Marilyn Ellis Jorge Salazar
Missouri Sharon Giboney
Susan T. Voss
Kyna Iman
Montana Cathy Simensen Kim A. Powell
Nebraska Jennifer Gesine Smith Patrick Bertolini
Nevada Tomas C. Walker Maggie Carlton
Debra Scott
New Hampshire Linda H. Reed Gene Elizabeth Harkless
New Jersey Carolyn T. Torre Nancy Munoz
New Mexico Therese Hidalgo Arthur M. Bankhurst
New York Denis F. Tarrant Maureen A. Kelly
North Carolina Remi Hueckel Chris M. Teigland
North Dakota Melissa R. Erdmann Patricia Moulton
Ohio Margaret Clark Graham Michelle M. Wilson
Oklahoma Patti Wheaton Lee Slater
Oregon Larlene Dunsmuir  
Pacific U.S. Territories Arley Gutierrez Long
Kevin G. Hitosis
Guam Nurses Association
Pennsylvania Donald M. Pallone Brenda L. Cassidy
Puerto Rico   Suane Sanchez
Rhode Island Rebecca Carley Iris Tong
South Carolina Susan Lee Zayac Lynda McKinnon
South Dakota Jacqueline Garner  
Tennessee Diane Todd Pace Susan Jacob
Texas Sandra McCoy M. Ray Perryman
Utah Michelle LeAnn Litchman Leissa Roberts
Vermont Carol Buck-Rolland  
Virginia Paula Hill Meade Eileen T. O'Grady
Washington Gregory A. Lind Louise Kaplan
West Virginia Kara M. Dougherty Nancy V. Atkins
Wisconsin Tina M. Bettin Richard Gladitsch
Wyoming Caitlin Vasquez Julian Good




The American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) is the largest professional membership organization for NPs of all specialties. It represents the interests of the nation's 167,000 NPs, including more than 46,000 individual members and 190 groups, providing a unified networking platform and advocating for their role as providers of high-quality, cost-effective, comprehensive, patient-centered and personalized health care.

For more information visit To locate an NP in your community, go to