Press Releases & Announcements

AANP Fellows Announce 2016 Honorary Fellows and 2016 Loretta Ford Award Recipient

The AANP Fellows Executive Committee is pleased to announce the recipient of the 2016 Loretta Ford Award and two 2016 Honorary Fellows. The following individuals will be honored at the 2016 FAANP Induction Ceremony during the AANP 2016 National Conference in San Antonio, Texas. The ceremony and reception will take place on Thursday, June 23, at 6:30 p.m.

Honorary Fellows
The 2016 Honorary Fellows are Dr. Peter Buerhaus and Senator Daniel K. Inouye (Posthumous).

Dr. Buerhaus has demonstrated outstanding leadership and productivity in nurse practitioner workforce research, research dissemination and related healthcare policy. From his successful pursuit of the nurse practitioner work and workforce realities, he has informed nurse practitioner education and practice and the foundational roles of registered nurses throughout the healthcare system.

During his career of public service, Senator Inouye was a tireless advocate for nurses, to include advanced practice registered nurses and nurse scientists. On many occasions Senator Inouye spoke publically on the importance of nurses in health care, and the positive influence nurses had on his life. Senator Inouye was instrumental in creating the Graduate School of Nursing at the Uniformed Services University, which is now named the Daniel K. Inouye Graduate School of Nursing, established in 1993 with the Family Nurse Practitioner Program, our nation's university responsible to prepare nurses in the uniformed services.

Loretta Ford Award
The recipient of the 2016 Loretta Ford Award is Dr. Rosemary Goodyear. The Loretta Ford Award is bestowed annually to a nurse practitioner who demonstrates participation in health care policy development at an international, national or local level; sustained and specific contribution to clarification of the role and scope of practice of Nurse Practitioners; and/or demonstrates a creative and effective action to turn a challenge to the nurse practitioner role into an effective opportunity to advanced practice and improved patient outcomes. Dr. Goodyear's tireless efforts and dedication have resulted in sustainable change in the advancement of the nurse practitioner role nationally and internationally. She has served as a champion and role-model to countless nurse practitioners in the areas of practice and academic innovations.


The American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP)
is the largest professional membership organization for nurse practitioners (NPs) of all specialties. It represents the interests of more than 205,000 NPs, including more than 68,000 individual members and 200 organizations, providing a unified networking platform and advocating for their role as providers of high-quality, cost-effective, comprehensive, patient-centered and personalized health care. The organization provides legislative leadership at the local, state and national levels, advancing health policy; promoting excellence in practice, education and research; and establishing standards that best serve NP patients and other health care consumers.
For more information, visit To locate a nurse practitioner in your area, visit