Press Releases & Announcements

American Academy of Nurse Practitioners 2012 Election Results

AUSTIN, TX (May 23) -- The American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) is pleased to announce the official results of the 2012 election. The ballots have been qualified by Survey & Ballot Systems in accordance with the election policies and procedures as approved by AANP. Congratulations to all the election winners. Term of office begins immediately following the Annual Membership Meeting at the 27th Annual AANP National Conference, June 20, 2012 in Orlando.

Board of Directors Executive Committee

Incoming Outgoing
Recording Secretary Cindy Cooke

Board of Directors Regional Directors

Incoming Outgoing
Region 2 Director Joy S. Elwell
Region 4 Director Deborah C. Varnam Kathy J. Wheeler
Region 6 Director Rosalinda Morales
Region 8 Director Gwen Rohde Witzel
Region 10 Director Cathy R. Arvidson

Nominations Committee

Incoming Outgoing
Member Susan E. Chaney
Member Sandra Saucier Restaino
Member Frank Manole Michelle DiGiovanni

State Representatives

Incoming Outgoing
Alabama Lori Lioce Richard Brown
Arizona Bessie L. Burk
California (N) Karen Ketner
California (S) Theresa Brown Karen “Sue” Hoyt
Connecticut Alicia Noonan Lynn C. Price
Delaware Megan McNamara Williams
District of Columbia Andrea Brassard
Florida Gail Sadler Doreen Cassarino
Georgia Bonni Cohen Jodi O’Sullivan
Hawaii Pualani Gandall-Yamamoto Yvonne Geesey
Illinois Julie Adkins
Indiana Rebecca S. Gump
Iowa Sherry L. McKay
Kansas Michelle H. Knowles
Maine Miki MacDonald
Maryland Julie Stanik-Hutt
Massachusetts Nancy C. O’Rourke
Michigan Constance J. Creech
Minnesota Ann McDonald Kevin Ballard
Mississippi Linda M. Watkins
Missouri Kathleen Haycraft Sharon Giboney
Nebraska LeAnn Holmes
Nevada Leslie Feth Diane McGinnis
New Hampshire Deborah A. Sampson
Ohio Christine Williams Louann Bailey
Pacific U.S. Territories Kevin G. Hitosis
Pennsylvania Lori Martin-Plank Susan M. Schrand
Rhode Island Denise Coppa
Vermont Deborah Wachtel
Virginia Mary Duggan
West Virginia Elizabeth Baldwin M. M. Damia Hayman
Wisconsin Jeanette Kalupa

Several bylaw amendments were also up for consideration. All bylaw amendments were approved.

The American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (AANP), founded in 1985, is the oldest and largest national professional membership organization for nurse practitioners (NPs) of all specialties. Through individual and group memberships, AANP represents the interests of approximately 155,000 NPs in the country. AANP continually advocates for the active role of NPs as providers of high-quality, cost-effective, comprehensive, patient-centered and personalized health care. For more information, visit To locate an NP in your community, go to