Press Releases & Announcements

2015 Grant & Scholarship Award Recipients Announced

AUSTIN, TX (December 7, 2015) -- The American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) is pleased to announce the recipients of more than $55,000 in scholarships and grants, awarded to AANP members through the 2015 Grants and Scholarship program. Recipients will be acknowledged at the 2016 AANP National Conference in San Antonio, TX, June 21 – 26, where their biographical information and photos will be on display. Congratulations to the following grant and scholarship recipients: 

2015 Grant Award Recipients ($2,500)

  • Rose Anne Indelicato, MSN, ANP-BC, OCN of George Washington University, Tuckahoe, NY
  • Thomas Schlepko, DNP, ARNP, FNP-BC of Miami Rescue Mission Clinic, Miami, FL
  • Charlene Seale, RN, BSN, MBA, MSN, APRN-BC of Amarillo VA Health Care System, Amarillo, TX
  • Loretta Vece, MSN of George Mason University, Annandale, VA

2015 Scholarship Award Recipients ($2,500)
Master’s in Nursing Scholarship

  • Natalie Adams, RN of Duke University, Durham, NC
  • Teresa Hughes, BSN, RN, CCRN-K of Georgetown University, Gaithersburg, MD
  • Tamara Martin, BSN, RN of the University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA
  • Danielle Martinez, BSN, RN of the University of Miami, Miami, Florida
  • Jamie Miller, RN, BSN, CPN of Georgetown University, Washington, DC
  • Tina Mourra, BSN, RN, CEN of Duquesne University, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Lindsey Naylor, MSN, BSN, RN of Southern Illinois University, Alton, IL
  • Shabnam Sabur, BSN, PHN/ENP of Emory University, Atlanta, GA
  • Julie Schreiner, DNP, FNP, MSN, PMHS, RN of Cal State University- Fresno, Agoura, CA
  • Okshoon Scott, RN, BSN of the University of Southern Mississippi, Madison, MS
  • Michelle VanBuren, RN, BSN of Michigan State University, Charlotte, MI
  • Holly Watson-Evans, MS, BSN, RN of the University of Illinois- Chicago, St. Charles, IL
  • Kristen Yunker, BSN, RN of Governors State University, Frankfort, IL

Doctor of Nursing Practice - Post Master Scholarship

  • Mary Beck Metzger, MSN, FNP-BC, APNP of the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh, Lake Mills, WI
  • TaSondra Foltz, sDNP, MSN, NP-C of Oakland University, Warren, MI
  • Nicolas Houghton, MSN, RN, ACNP-BC, CFRN of Ursuline College, Cleveland, OH
  • Carey Rivinius, MSN, FNP-C of Frontier Nursing University, Carson, ND

Doctor of Nursing Practice - BSN to DNP Scholarship

  • Heather Jones, RN, BSN of the University of Michigan-Flint, Grand Blanc, MI

The American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP)
 is the largest professional membership organization for nurse practitioners (NPs) of all specialties. It represents the interests of more than 205,000 NPs, including more than 65,000 individual members and 200 organizations, providing a unified networking platform and advocating for their role as providers of high-quality, cost-effective, comprehensive, patient-centered and personalized health care. The organization provides legislative leadership at the local, state and national levels, advancing health policy; promoting excellence in practice, education and research; and establishing standards that best serve NP patients and other health care consumers.
For more information, visit To locate a nurse practitioner in your area, visit